Composer Spotlight Series: Fauré

Join the World Chess Hall of Fame as we present the music of French composer, Gabriel Fauré. One of the most influential composers of his generation, he was also known as an accomplished organist, pianist and teacher. Though seemingly simple, Fauré’s elegant and refined music brims with freshness of invention and daring harmonic progression. While he produced exceptional music of all genres, he is most fondly remembered for his vocal and chamber music output. Fauré’s legacy was felt throughout 20th century music and served as a link between the end of Romanticism and the modern era. This performance features compositions for strings and piano, pairing his most beloved short works—Pavane, Aprés un Revé, and Sicilienne—with his masterful Piano Quartet in C minor, No. 1, played by members of the St. Louis Symphony Orchestra: Kristin Ahlstrom, violin; Shannon Farrell Williams, viola; Bjorn Ranheim, cello; Matthew Mazzoni, piano.

Reservations are required.

General admission is $20. Discounted admission is *$10 and available for members, seniors, and military.

*Use discount code MEMBERTICKET at checkout for all discounts.

*Please purchase regular price tickets and discounted tickets separately.

Admission includes one free drink and complimentary hors d’oeuvres. Metered on-street parking is available, as well as paid lots adjacent to Kingside Diner and at the Schlafly Branch of the St. Louis Public Library.

For additional information, please call 314-367-9243.

Register Here

Thursday, Oct 11 - 7:00 pm