Music Series: Prokofiev vs Oistrakh

Experience the excitement of the legendary 1937 chess match between composer Sergei Prokofiev and violinist David Oistrakh with a performance by World Chess Hall of Fame Music Director Brian Woods and St. Louis Symphony violinist Hannah Ji! Featuring music popularized by Oistrakh, including Prokofiev's own Violin Sonata No. 2, the concert will celebrate the relationship between music and chess with fun and dramatic selections for piano and violin. Presented in collaboration with our newest exhibition, Sound Moves: Where Music Meets Chess, this event is not to be missed!

Concert pianist and World Chess Hall of Fame Music Director Brian Woods is joined by virtuoso St. Louis Symphony violinist Hannah Ji, who has previously performed with Yo-Yo Ma, Jeremy Denk, and Pinchas Zukerman. Both accomplished soloists with international careers, Brian and Hannah unite for the first time for Prokofiev vs. Oistrakh, a special one-night-only event that highlights both their talents as soloists and collaborators.

For more information, visit and

5:30 p.m. | Doors Open

6:00 p.m. | Complimentary artist talk

6:30 p.m. | Break

7:00 p.m. | Concert

Limited in person seating available.

Purchase Tickets HERE>

Thursday, Nov 2 - 6:00 pm