Composer Spotlight Series: Aaron Copland

Join the World Chess Hall of Fame as we present the music of beloved American composer, Aaron Copland. Born in 1900, Copland created works uniquely his own that are unabashedly American. During the Great Depression, while many of his peers were exploring modernist styles and sounds, Copland read the national mood and created populist music that is revered to this day. His Appalachian SpringRodeo and Billy the Kid, Fanfare for the Common Man and Third Symphony evoke images of the vast western landscape and pioneering spirit of America through the use of open textures and slowly evolving harmonies.

This performance features members of the St. Louis Symphony Orchestra in Copland’s music for Clarinet, Piano and String Quartet, most notably his Sextet. Originally conceived as his Short Symphony and brimming with vitality and spirit, the composer adapted the work for chamber ensemble and it has since become a staple of the repertoire.

Reservations are required.

$10 tickets available for members, seniors, and military. $20 general admission.

Admission includes one free drink and complimentary hors d’oeuvres. Metered on-street parking is available, as well as paid lots adjacent to Kingside Diner and at the Schlafly Branch of the St. Louis Public Library.

For more information, please contact

Register Here

Thursday, Nov 8 - 7:00 pm