WCHOF Composer Series: Music for Clarinet and Strings

Enjoy a live-stream concert of works composed or arranged for clarinet and string quartet by Gerald Finzi and Florence Price, in addition to W.A. Mozart’s widely-admired Clarinet Quintet in A major. This program will be performed by Tzuying Huang on clarinet, Eva Kozma and Kyle Lombard on violins, Chris Tantillo on viola, and Jun Seo on cello.

Beloved for its lyrical tone, the clarinet is an incredibly versatile instrument that has captivated composers throughout history. Among Mozart’s most admired works, the Clarinet Quintet in A major was one of the first to masterfully balance the unique timbers of this instrumental pairing. The performance will begin with Finzi’s Five Bagatelles, a staple of the repertoire heard here in an arrangement commissioned to celebrate the centenary of Finzi’s birth in 2001. Florence Price, the first African-American female composer to have a work premiered by a major US orchestra, composed Andante moderato as the slow movement to her String Quartet in G major.

Watch this concert on our YouTube or Facebook Live channels.

Learn about upcoming performances and watch previous concerts here.

Gerald Finzi (Arr. Christian Alexander)

Five Bagatelles, Op. 23 (1941)

  1. Prelude
  2. Romance
  3. Carol
  4. Forlana
  5. Fughetta

Florence Price

Andante moderato from String Quartet in G major (1929)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Clarinet Quintet in A major,  K. 581 (1789)

  1. Allegro
  2. Larghetto
  3. Menuetto
  4. Allegretto con variazioni
Thursday, Mar 18 - 7:00 pm