Gata Kamsky

(b. 1974)

U.S. Chess

Hall of Fame

Inducted 2016







Gata Kamsky is one of the greatest chess players to represent the United States. He is a five-time U.S. Chess Champion (1991, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2014) and a six-time U.S. Olympiad team member (1992, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2012, 2014). Kamsky also played board one on the only American team to win the World Team Chess Championship (Lucerne 1993). He has been ranked number three in the chess world twice (1996, 2009) and is the first American after Bobby Fischer to compete in a match for the FIDE World Chess Championship (losing to Anatoly Karpov 7 ½ - 10 ½ in 1996). Kamsky is also the only U.S. player to win the FIDE World Cup, finishing ahead of 128 players at Khanty-Mansiysk, Russia (2007).



Notable Games

Bill Hook
GM Gata Kamsky competes in the 1992 Manila, Philippines, Chess Olympiad
Collection of the World Chess Hall of Fame, gift of the U.S. Chess Trust
Spectrum Studio
GM Gata Kamsky at the 2016 U.S. Chess Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony
Courtesy of the Saint Louis Chess Club